Change is Hard; Poor Charlie Sheen

Charlie SheenI don’t usually write about celebrities or current events per se, but as I watched poor Charlie Sheen struggle with his interview with Matt Lauer, I struggled with him. Why? I know change is hard. I see it in myself and my clients who come to me for help.

What Charlie did was to take a monumental step forward in his own healing. His history of anger and erratic behavior along with alcohol and drug abuse is well documented in the tabloids and TV magazines. His lifestyle and inability to change it led to his latest admission that it cost him millions of dollars and more importantly, his health.

I, like Charlie and most of us have had to face things that were extremely difficult. I tried and tried to quit smoking for years and always went back to it. For many years I was angry that I couldn’t do it but finally found a program that helped me quit and stay quit. Smoking cost me my health too like Charlie. I have only 70% of my lung capacity as a result.

It begs the question of why would I (we) do that to ourselves? Most of us certainly don’t want to harm ourselves on purpose, but we continue do things that might anyway. Our fear of change, fear of losing friends, fear of looking like a failure. Whatever the fear is, it paralyzes us from changing from what we know, even when what we know it is harmful or negative. Weird, huh?

So I contemplated Charlie Sheen’s statements and listened to the obvious fear in his voice and thought good for you Charlie. He really doesn’t know yet how much his life will change for the better. I wish him well and look forward to different, more positive bits about him in the tabloids.

I have extraordinary results treating fear-based beliefs in a safe manner with John F. Barnes myofascial release (JFB-MFR). Take a step like Charlie did and call me to set an appointment or I can will be happy refer you to a JFB-MFR trained therapist near you if you’re not in the Sacramento area.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment